Francis L.

£15 / hour 200+ Hours
Francis L.
£15 / hour
10+ years experience
  • DBS Check Approved
    Renewal Date: May 2018
  • Speaks
  • Has a car

I have been working in Social Care for over 20 years. I have good communication skills, am easy to get on with and have lots of patience and understanding for peoples' conditions. I love helping people get out enjoy life and have a laugh. I have a lot of experience working with people with dementia and other illness. I am passionate about person centred care and getting to know individuals and helping them to enjoy the things they like. I enjoy a range of music, current affairs and the outdoors.

Read transcript Hide transcript

My name is Francis. I live in Golders Green and I've been a carer for over 20 years. I've been working in the care field for over 20 years. I started working with young people with learning disabilities. Then I did some home care and then later on, I started working in nursing homes. There was a range of people between the age of 50 and 104 with a range of ailments, but later on I realized my interest was really in the social side. I love getting people out, so I became an activities organizer. And later on, I became a social care coordinator managing a range of volunteers, working closely with the families and helping people still have fun doing quizzes, discussions, ranging entertainment and lots of music in the home, and I took people out all over London to the British Museum, the Tate, to Safari parks, zoos, parks and theaters. In my spare time, I love listening to music, a wide range of films, written papers and keeping up on current affairs and news, reading and sports. I do tai chi and swim, and I like football also. My passion is helping the whole family, adapt to more often difficult circumstances, getting back to the person as they were before the illness, reconnecting with their passions, whether it can be music, art or film, trying to overcome obstacles and get people out and helping to support the whole family in what's often a hard time.

Reviews (2)

Francis was employed by Jewish Care from 1994 to 2014. As an activities manager Francis was a valued member of the team with the ability to work positively with service users, their families and colleagues. He was the lead person on the staff team. His warm and approachable manager helped ensure residents sense of well-being and self-worth. He worked to build a sense of community and belonging in the home he has a strong understanding of the importance of culture and tradition when supporting older people and in particular with residence living with dementia.

Tue Feb 17 2015 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (UTC)

Francis works regularly on an ad hoc basis since January this year, for my brother who has a severe learning disability and is recovering from a physical accident. Francis has taken on board my brother's interests, therefore plans activities and outings based on these. He works with George to promote his physical strength, by doing physio exercises which George needs to do daily. Francis is always laughing and joking with my brother, he performs personal care when required. Francis is professional, asking questions about my brother and observing his other carer so he can work with George at a high and safe standard. He uses his initiative to plan activities and outings with George, based on what he has learnt from his observations. We have not known Francis for long, yet we find him trust worthy, George asks for him, which reassures us. Francis is reliable and has got us out of sticky situations when we needed a carer last minute, he has showed up. He is punctual and is committed by taking on board everything we as the family have suggested. I would highly recommend Francis as an efficient and kind carer.

Fri Mar 11 2016 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (UTC)


  • Visual Impairment
  • COPD
  • Stroke
  • Depression
  • Autism
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Orthopaedic Injuries
  • Alzheimer's Dementia
  • Vascular Dementia
  • Spinal Injury Care
  • Terminal Illness
  • Anxiety
  • Eating Disorder
  • Physical Disability
  • Cancer
  • Deafness


  • cooking
  • administration
  • shopping
  • cleaning
  • laundry
  • dressing and undressing
  • personal grooming and hygiene
  • toileting
  • eating and drinking assistance
  • medication prompting
  • moving and handling
  • personal assistance
  • attending appointments
  • gardening
  • wheelchair assistance
  • physical activities
  • doing errands
  • driving license (with car)


  • films
  • social activities
  • travel
  • sport and physical activity
  • gardening
  • chess


  • nvq level 3 promoting independence
    work 2004