• DBS Check Approved
    Renewal Date: Jan 2019
  • Speaks
  • Has a car

I consider myself as a compassionate, empathetic, respectful person and have many life experiences that have led me to want to care for others. I have and still work as a self employed befriended/carer with a number of clients with Alzheimers for the past 6 years. My roles have included managing other carers, rota creation, making and accompanying clients to healthcare appointments, discussing and reporting concerns and issues with family members as well as doctors and hospital staff, escorting clients to events, shopping trips as well as forming strong and trusting relationships with clients - working to establish respect and emotional wellbeing at all times. I'm a single mother of two teenage daughters. I have a wide variety of interests including painting, drawing and cycling.

Read transcript Hide transcript

My name is Nicky. I live in Stoke Newington in North London. I've been working as a befriender/carer for six years now. My first job as a carer or befriender was to support a woman with early-onset Alzheimer's. Her friends and family were keen that she stayed at home for as long as possible, so I worked to support her. We gradually brought in more care, and so I managed the care and setting up routers and supported the carers in their work as well. So, we worked as a team. I have since worked with other clients with early-onset dementia and more advanced. I have been a musician. I'm a singer, and I used to gig quite a lot. I haven't done that recently, but I've sung with the choir. At the moment, I'm doing a lot of artwork at home in the kitchen. I like cycling. I like walking. I especially like reading.


  • Stroke
  • Depression
  • Alzheimer's Dementia
  • Terminal Illness
  • Anxiety
  • Physical Disability
  • Cancer


  • cooking
  • administration
  • shopping
  • cleaning
  • laundry
  • dressing and undressing
  • toileting
  • eating and drinking assistance
  • medication prompting
  • personal assistance
  • attending appointments
  • gardening
  • wheelchair assistance
  • physical activities
  • doing errands
  • driving license (with car)


  • painting
  • drawing
  • cycling
  • music
  • reading
  • art


  • First Year Dance Movement Therapy
    Goldsmiths, University of London 2004
  • Diploma in Anatomy and Holistic Massage
    Chance Foundation 1993