• DBS Check Approved
    Renewal Date: Nov 2017
  • Speaks
    english
  • Limited Availability
  • Has driver's licence

Please note that I can't take further jobs at the moment due to my commitments. I have over 20 years experience working as a nurse with all kinds of diseases, mainly Lewy body dementia and Parkinson's. I've been working in care homes, residential homes and also in hospitals. My duties included prompting medication, doing personal care, catheter and wound care. I love getting to know people. I generally think the key is treating people with respect and listening to them as everyone has a story to tell. In my free time I love being a tourist in my own city and exploring the museums and galleries, cooking (vegetarian, vegan, traditional, gluten and dairy free meals too), gardening, politics, current affairs and reading. I'm looking for day care roles. I am happy to provide personal care, housekeeping, gardening and looking after pets. Please get in touch if you are interested in working with me.

Read transcript Hide transcript

My name is Philippa. I live in Hackney. I've been a carer now for over 25 years. I trained as a nurse in Whitechapel a very, very long time ago, so you could say that I've been caring since then. I've done all sorts of types of care really. I've looked after people following surgery. I've looked after people with chronic illnesses, such as diabetes, asthma, things like that. I've looked after people that are dying, so care of the dying, but I've also got people better as well. I've treated wounds. I've taken out stitches, tested people. I've taken blood. I've looked after people that are unable to look after themselves at all. So really, I do have quite a large range of experience. I love to get out in the garden and sort things out, so I like to grow things. I love to cook, especially baking. I like baking bread. When I can, I like to go to wild places, like Wales. I've also got three cats that need a bit of looking after too, so I'm always very happy to look after people's pets. So something that you might not guess about me when you first meet me is that I am still, even though I'm in my mid-fifties, the baby of the family. I am the sixth child, and therefore, I have five older brothers and sisters. They still think I've got it better than any of them, but I'm not so sure.

Condition
Expertise

  • Visual Impairment
  • COPD
  • Stroke
  • Depression
  • Orthopaedic Injuries
  • Alzheimer's Dementia
  • Parkinson's disease
  • Terminal Illness
  • Anxiety
  • Physical Disability
  • Cancer
  • Deafness

Skills

  • administration
  • shopping
  • cleaning
  • laundry
  • dressing and undressing
  • personal grooming and hygiene
  • toileting
  • eating and drinking assistance
  • medication prompting
  • cooking
  • personal assistance
  • attending appointments
  • gardening
  • wheelchair assistance
  • doing errands
  • catheter / continence management
  • dressing wounds

Interests

  • cooking
  • gardening
  • reading
  • museums
  • galleries
  • politics
  • current affairs

Education

  • BA (Hows) Humanities
    Hatfield Polytechnic 1983