Mary O.

£15 / hour 200+ Hours
Mary O.
£15 / hour
5-9 years experience
  • DBS Check Approved
    Renewal Date: May 2018
  • Speaks
    english, african languages

I have about seven years experience in care looking after elderly people with dementia, terminal illness, MND and children with special needs. I've been working in nursing homes and private homes, with individual clients and groups of elderly people. I've provided companionship, bathing, feeding and activity support. I'm a compassionate, punctual, reliable, trustworthy and loving person, always work with my heart. I'm happiest when I know that I've helped someone cope with their condition. In my spare time I love travelling and cooking African food. I'm looking for clients I can work long hours with, preferably during weekdays during the day. Please get in touch to meet me to discuss how I can help you.

Read transcript Hide transcript

Hi, my name is Mary. I live in Abbey Wood. I've been a carer for seven years and I've looked after children and people with learning disabilities, as well as dementia. I like being a carer because it gives me joy, pleasure, to see that I've been able to contribute to help someone cope with the activities of living. Because of their illness they may think, "Oh, it's the end of the world," they can't do anything for themselves, but with help from someone, then they can manage. At least, they can go about living their life in the normal way as best as possible. In the future, I'm hoping to become a nurse, when I'll be able to give all levels of care, especially medications, because as a carer there is a limit to what I can do, but as a nurse, I have more opportunities and more freedom to do what I can do for people. There's no limit, yes, apart from surgery. I prefer to work long hours with my clients so that I get to know them really, really well. I don't want to come and do, like, one 30-minutes and then go. I'd like to get to know you personally, really personally. I want to get to know everything about you and help you in the best possible way. That's it.


  • Visual Impairment
  • Depression
  • Alzheimer's Dementia
  • Vascular Dementia
  • Parkinson's disease
  • Spinal Injury Care
  • Terminal Illness


  • cooking
  • shopping
  • dressing and undressing
  • personal grooming and hygiene
  • toileting
  • eating and drinking assistance
  • medication prompting
  • moving and handling
  • personal assistance
  • attending appointments
  • doing errands
  • catheter / continence management


  • travelling
  • cooking african food


  • Access to Nursing
    Bexley College 2011
  • NVQ Level 3
    London 2016