• DBS Check Approved
    Renewal Date: Jan 2019
  • Speaks
    english, russian, czech, slovak
  • Emergency Backup

I've been working as a personal care assistant for more than 8 years. Most of my clients are Alzheimer and Dementia sufferers and I am very knowledgeable about Autism. I find my job satisfying because I'm able to help vulnerable people and make them happy. I find it very rewarding when I get to know a client and they smile and enjoy my company. Not only do I like to provide the necessary duties but I like to put a client's preference first along with their safety. In my spare time I like swimming, walking, reading, listening to classical music and cooking. I'm available on weekdays, especially on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. I would be happy to hear more about you and how I can help!

Read transcript Hide transcript

My name is Julia and I live in Colindale, and I'm a carer for more than eight years. I work mostly with dementia sufferers and I'm trying to build a very nice relationship with them, but I've got also 15 years' voluntary work from Slovakia with autistic people. And that's pretty much all. I like my job, and to understand better to those who need my help, mostly dementia sufferers, I studied health and social care, level 2, and it was really very helpful. And I've got really a very good relationship with my clients, and one day I would like to have a carer like me.

Reviews (2)

Julia worked for our family from September 2011 to the end of October 2015 as a nanny/housekeeper on a part time basis. During this time Julia was always very punctual, reliable and hard working. She would always work longer hours when requested and sometimes with very little notice. Julia was trustworthy and dependable, able to work alone in an organised and capable manner. She always displayed a professional attitude and could be totally relied upon. Julia was popular with my two children as she always kind, caring and fair. Julia was willing to work with the regular timetable set by me so that the children always completed homework on time during term time and were well organised. During school holidays Julia was happy to work full days as requested and would ensure that the children were happy and well occupied. Julia also ensured that the children spent time outdoors where possible with time spent playing in the garden and sometimes cycling. Julia always cooked from scratch using fresh ingredients and ensured the children has good, nutritious food. I would highly recommend Julia as a conscientious and confident carer. I wish her all the very best for the future.

Sat Oct 31 2015 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (UTC)

Initially, Julia started off as a cleaner but soon progressed on to becoming our part time housekeeper who did the shopping as well as other related duties. This suited us well at the time because I was working as a lecturer and my husband as a probation officer. After two years with us, we realised that she would be ideally suited to take of my ageing mother in law. Julia's kindness, sensitive care, honesty and trustworthiness has proved to be a real bonus to the whole family. She works hard, never late, is very reliable, hardly takes time off and has a cheerful countenance. She continues to work for my mother in law as a companion. Indeed Julia is so much in demand that the rest of the extended family seek her help for parties and other celebrations. I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending Julia as a housekeeper, carer and companion.

Wed Mar 02 2016 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (UTC)

Condition
Expertise

  • Visual Impairment
  • Learning Disability
  • Autism
  • Orthopaedic Injuries
  • Alzheimer's Dementia
  • Vascular Dementia
  • Eating Disorder
  • Physical Disability
  • Cancer
  • Deafness

Skills

  • shopping
  • cooking
  • cleaning
  • personal grooming and hygiene
  • dressing and undressing
  • attending appointments
  • companionship
  • doing errands
  • administration
  • laundry
  • toileting
  • eating and drinking assistance
  • medication prompting
  • moving and handling
  • personal assistance
  • wheelchair assistance
  • physical activities

Interests

  • knitting
  • social activities
  • it and computers
  • sport and physical activity
  • gardening
  • swimming
  • walking
  • reading
  • classical music
  • cooking

Education

  • Bookkeeping
    College of Hotel Management (Slovakia) 1982
  • Health and Social Care Level 2
    City & Guide 2015
  • Challenging Behaviour
    Caxton Centre 2014
  • Dementia Awareness
    Caxton Centre 2015