Christine F.

£18 / hour
Christine F.
£18 / hour
10+ years experience
  • DBS Check Approved
    Renewal Date: May 2018
  • Speaks
    english

Hi my name is Christine and I have extensive experience (over 30 years) working within the social care sector. I have worked with the following client groups: learning disabilities, ageing senior citizens, young care leavers, mental health. I also have supervisory and management experience. I am a caring and nurturing individual who has a natural passion for people. Social care is my chosen profession from when I was a teenager and I enjoy making a difference in people's lives. I have a passion for people, excellent observation skills, a good sense of humour, perfection in carrying out all tasks in the general care and support of a person and empowering and encouraging.

Read transcript Hide transcript

Hi, my name is Christine. I live in Brixton in South West London. I've been a carer for 30 years. I started off in junior roles and I've been a manager for quite a long time now, probably over 15 years. I think to be in the care sector, you need to be an understanding person who's very patient and have a lot of empathy for whatever kind of group you're working with. That was the main reason why I went into care at such a young age. I always knew what I wanted to do. I enjoy being with people and I love supporting them to reach their goals and to try and master anything that they want to do. And I think there is always hope in whatever situation you're in. There's always hope to make things better. In my spare time, I like to spend time with my friends and I love going to nice, quiet coffee shops. I also enjoy walking, going to museums, and I really love old listed buildings, and I also like a bit of exercise in between when I got a bit of time.

Condition
Expertise

  • Visual Impairment
  • Depression
  • Autism
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Orthopaedic Injuries
  • Alzheimer's Dementia
  • Anxiety
  • Eating Disorder
  • Physical Disability

Skills

  • cooking
  • administration
  • shopping
  • cleaning
  • laundry
  • dressing and undressing
  • personal grooming and hygiene
  • toileting
  • eating and drinking assistance
  • medication prompting
  • personal assistance
  • attending appointments
  • wheelchair assistance
  • physical activities
  • doing errands
  • catheter / continence management
  • sign language

Interests

  • reading
  • travelling
  • walking
  • exercise
  • museums