• DBS Check Approved
    Renewal Date: Jun 2017
  • Speaks
  • Has driver's licence

Hi, my name is Alex. My first job in healthcare was as a HCA for Addenbrooke's hospital in Cambridge, where I worked for about a year. It was a brilliant experience as I worked in many different wards and so was able to learn how to care for patients with a range of different needs. I then became a home carer for an agency in Cambridge, and I have continued to work for them on and off for about 4 years whilst studying. I am a medical student at Imperial College London which is hard work but also very exciting! I'm looking forward to my clinical training this year. As I am studying, it means I am available to work at the weekends and some evenings, and of course in the holidays. I play hockey and enjoy running and cycling. I'm thinking about signing up for a triathlon this year. I'm also really into baking cakes and bread, which keeps my housemates very happy!

Read transcript Hide transcript

Hi, my name is Alex. I've lived in London for about a year now, and I've been a carer for 5 years. So I play a lot of hockey for my university team, and I also like running and cycling, and I'm also a very keen baker. So my first job in health care I was an HCA for a hospital in Cambridge, and then I moved in to home care which I absolutely loved. And basically working with patients in lots of different settings inspired me to study medicine at Imperial College, London. And so I'm just about to go into my second year.


  • Visual Impairment
  • Stroke
  • Learning Disability
  • Depression
  • Schizophrenia
  • Autism
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Alzheimer's Dementia
  • Vascular Dementia
  • Parkinson's disease
  • Terminal Illness
  • Anxiety
  • Physical Disability
  • Cancer
  • Deafness


  • cooking
  • administration
  • shopping
  • cleaning
  • laundry
  • dressing and undressing
  • personal grooming and hygiene
  • toileting
  • eating and drinking assistance
  • medication prompting
  • moving and handling
  • overnight care
  • gardening
  • wheelchair assistance
  • physical activities
  • personal assistance
  • attending appointments
  • doing errands
  • catheter / continence management


  • running
  • reading
  • visiting sites
  • holidays