Charles S.

£20 / hour 200+ Hours
Charles S.
£20 / hour
5-9 years experience
  • DBS Check Approved
    Renewal Date: Sep 2018
  • Speaks
    french, english
  • Has driver's licence

I am a semi-retired male with a background working in the property industry both in the UK and abroad, as an Estate Agent and residential developer. For the last four years I have been employed by an agency and privately as a carer/companion. My duties have included driving, caring, companionship, cooking, washing, and ironing as well as home administration, banking and running errands. I have assisted clients with their trips abroad including accompanying, organising transport, accommodation and wheel chair access. I am a well educated and well spoken, honest empathic person, caring, a good listener and communicator. I have cared for gentlemen with dementia and the early stage of alzheimers and depression as well as ladies who are disabled or recently bereaved.

Read transcript Hide transcript

My name is Charlie. I live in South London, near Tooting. I've been a carer for three and a half years. My wife is a professional opera singer, so I enjoy the opera, but I like music and theater. I enjoy films and reading. I also like to play golf and tennis. I find caring fascinating. I work with mostly elderly people who have great stories to tell, and the relationships developed can be wonderful I feel for both sides, it is a two way street. I feel 10-foot high when I walk away after caring for somebody successfully.

Reviews (1)

Charlie Short has worked for me on and off for the past three years, as a carer and companion. His duties have included home administration, personal care, cooking, washing and ironing, shopping and running errands. In addition to this he has arranged transport and accompanied me to various medical and hospital appointments and on holiday. He has also acted as an ‘aide memoire’ and prompt where necessary. Charlie has carried out his duties well and has been a great support over the years.

Wed Aug 26 2015 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (UTC)


  • Depression
  • Alzheimer's Dementia
  • Physical Disability
  • Deafness


  • cooking
  • administration
  • shopping
  • cleaning
  • laundry
  • dressing and undressing
  • personal grooming and hygiene
  • eating and drinking assistance
  • medication prompting
  • moving and handling
  • personal assistance
  • attending appointments
  • doing errands
  • gardening
  • wheelchair assistance
  • physical activities


  • films
  • painting
  • social activities
  • it and computers
  • travel
  • sport and physical activity
  • gardening


  • 3 x A levels
    The Kings School Canterbury 1968
  • ARICS Intermediate level
    Postal Course 1973